Jennifer H @ Abracadabra Childcare Services

Babysitter/In Home Carer/Nanny affiliated with Abracadabra Childcare Services

About Jennifer H @ Abracadabra Childcare Services

Request an Interview
With This Agency
Request an Interview With This agency
Classification
Babysitter/In Home Carer/Nanny
Agency
Abracadabra Childcare Services

Jennifer H is a Babysitter/In Home Carer/Nanny, with 15 years experience caring for children from newborn to 15 yrs old. Jennifer H is represented by Abracadabra Childcare Services child care agency.

Carer Rates (+ Agency Booking fee $33.00)

Please note: If bookings are received within 48 hours of commencement of the assignment or made after hours then the booking fee will be $40 (+GST).

25.00 per hour
Minimum booking is 4 hours
QUALIFICATIONS & EXPERIENCE
Australian Nanny Association Member
Child Care Qualifications - Cert III+
Drivers Licence
First Aid Certification / CPR
Lactation Consultant
LifeSaving Certificate / Austswim
Mature Aged Carer
Non-smoker
Nursing experience
Own transport
Public Liability Insurance
Special needs care experience
Teaching Experience
Character references on file
Permanent Resident
Police check / Working with Children check
Temporary Resident
Written references on file
Certificate III in Children’s Services
First Aid Certificate
Working with Children Check
Application to become a Registered Carer
Other courses
About Me….

I have a genuine love for working children and it is my chosen career path. I have completed my Certificate lll in Children’s Services and have experience in both Centre based care and solecharge Nannying/Babysitting work. My experience, knowledge and qualifications will be used to provide an excellent level of care for your children. I understand the need to prepare children for school, in preparing the ‘whole child’ in a nurturing positive way that reflects the child’s own wants and interests. The major focus is having fun and doing age appropriate games and activities. I would like a plan to be made in consultation with the family that reflects their individual needs. I can provide written reports or a portfolio for each child.
June 2015 - Current
Solecharge Part-time Nanny
Ettalong

Caring for two girls aged 3 and 2 years where activities and duties organising daily outings, trips to the park and beach, swimming pool and library for story time. In home activities such as arts and craft, music and dance, stories and reading, cooking, board games and puzzles, letters and numbers and all associated household duties.

2010 – Jan 2015
Casual Childcare Educator
Koolyangarra Kindergarten and Long Day Care

I undertake all responsibilities and duties of an educator in a two-educator room. Main duties are ensuring a safe, healthy and individual learning journey for children aged for 0-6. This includes all aspects of toileting, hygiene and routine daily needs. Assisting with morning tea and lunch. Providing free choice activities and more structured activities to children in a professional and caring manner. Providing a range of activities such as art and craft, science and maths-based games and activities, movement and indoor/outdoor activities.

During my time at the Centre I have babysat for the children attending the centre both during the evening and on weekends.
2010 – Current
Casual Solecharge Nanny/Babysitter
On-Call

Mum is a nurse so I carry out weekend shift work when needed on-call for one baby. I am responsible for the full running of a household, organising fun activities throughout the day, preparing nutritional snacks and meals and ensuring the children’s safety at all times. Reading stories and preparing the children for bed.



2004-2010
Stay at home mum to Alex, Jacob and Mark Smith

2001-2004
Laboratory Manager, Science Dept.
Ashfield Boys High School

Interests

Cover Letter...

I wish to apply for the role of Nanny – Gosford (Wyong Region). I am seeking a full-time permanent position. I am prepared to work shift work, weekends, overnights and various shifts as a professional educator.

• Minimum 12 months experience working with children 0-13 years.
I have worked with children 0-12 years in a variety of casual jobs over the last 10 years. I have worked at a child care centre in all rooms with 0-2year old room, 2-3 year old room, 3-4 year old room and ‘pre-school room’ This was on a very casual basis filling in when staff were ill or on holidays. I have worked as a nanny for a family with two young children. I have also worked as a teacher with children from Kindergarten to Year 11.

• Must be 18 years old or older.
I am 47 and my DOB is 27/10/1969.

• Must have the right to work in Australia.
I was born in Australia and am an Australian citizen.

• Be reliable, trustworthy, honest and have a passion for children and families.
I am reliable, honest and try my best to provide for the children in my care. I have been involved in community activities such as clean-up Australia Day, Little Athletics and Cub Scouts which I feel demonstrates one way I have been passionate about improving our community for our children. I am committed to ‘Improving the Gap’ initiatives. I strive to be inclusive of all children and to learn more about resources and activities where I can improve in this area. I am passionate about assisting children to make healthy life choices, to eat healthily and enjoy exercise and having fun.

• Be proficient in written and spoken English.
My written and spoken English is of a high standard.

• Great organisational and time management skills.
As a casual worker I have learnt to be very adaptable and resourceful. I understand the need to be on time to ensure adequate supervision and the safety of the children at all times. Working in a variety of positions has helped prepare me for this role. I believe that planning and preparation can help me be more organised and manage the time to allow for more child-centred activities.

• Ability to maintain a smoke/alcohol/illegal substances free environment at all times.
I do not smoke, drink alcohol or use illegal substance when I am at work ever.

• Well developed interpersonal, oral and written skills whilst maintaining confidentiality.
As a child care educator I have experience working with families, children and other educators. I have experience in both oral and written communications with families and other educators.
One time I used oral communication was one morning when I discussed with a parents the child’s needs for the day regarding the food they had contributed to morning tea, the details of the overnight sleep which had been disturbed. I was able to assist the child to have the morning tea of her choice, maintain and encourage the link between home and care, and also facilitate an earlier then her usual sleep time due to the changes the parent had communicated to me. Some examples of written communication include ‘day book’ entries based on the ELYF, newsletter entries, portfolio records and reports.
I understand the importance of maintaining confidentiality, particularly important when working in the child’s own home, but always important.

• Demonstrated effective communication skills whilst maintaining confidentiality.
I have experience documenting and recording the day’s events. The ELYF is a very useful tool to assist me to communicate with other educators and parents. I have experience writing a portfolio for the children I was a nanny to. I have experience communicating with educators to pass on messages and ensure that confidentiality is maintained by not discussing children or families with anyone else, unless strictly necessary.

I have demonstrated experience completing an incident form, ensuring you maintain confidentiality of the children involved, writing succinctly and clearly. I have experience communicating with a parent regarding small incidents and obtaining the parent/caregiver’s signature and filing a copy of the completed form. I have experience using word, data base, power point and a basic level of computer literacy. I will endeavour to ensure that all paperwork (ie timesheets, excursion forms, medication forms) is completed and processed in a professional and timely manner as required by the NSW Nanny Services.

• Ability to create learning opportunities for children.
I have demonstrated experience in providing learning experiences in the child care centre where I worked as a casual. This could be indoor or outdoor activities, in large groups, small groups and individuals.

I also have experience teaching K-6 as a classroom teacher and as a learning support teacher in small groups or individual assistance.
As a nanny I have worked in the child’s own home and provided a variety of activities such as art/craft, fitness, cooking, and healthy eating. I created learning experience which allowed the children to choose their own games and activities and have a sense of control over their own time. I also created learning opportunities for the children I was a nanny to by taking them out of the home. We attended a music group weekly, library story time, swimming lessons. We also took interesting local excursions such as our park, a local bakery to practice handling money and speaking for yourself. The children were encouraged to choose activities that they enjoyed. Plenty of time was allowed for the children to develop their own interests in accordance with the ‘Being, Belonging and Becoming Framework.’

• A warm, caring, nurturing personality, physically fit and highly energetic.
I try to be warm and caring towards all the children in my care. I am 47, I am healthy but not particularly fit. I have no illnesses. I also have had all the recommended vaccinations, such as whooping cough and Hep B.

• Understanding of EYLF (Early Years Learning Framework).
I have completed a CERTIFICATE III in Children’s Services, so I am familiar with the EYLF. Current Working with Children Check & Criminal Record Check.

I have a current Working with Children Check, the number is 03001366 Exp. 07/03/19

• Current 1st Aid & CPR including asthma & anaphylaxis.
Yes

• Willing to work independently and different shifts including day, night, sleepovers, weekend, rotating rosters and split shifts.
Yes, I am willing to work independently and understand the role requires a variety of shift work, weekends and unusual time. I would prefer to have a guarantee of a set number of hours a week, but am not concerned about which days or hours as I am currently available to work any day.

Thank you for your time and consideration,

Yours sincerely,
Jen Smith (nee Hewitson)
  • Australian Nanny Association Member
  • Child Care Qualifications - Cert III+
  • Drivers Licence
  • First Aid Certification / CPR
  • Lactation Consultant
  • LifeSaving Certificate / Austswim
  • Mature Aged Carer
  • Non-smoker
  • Nursing experience
  • Own transport
  • Public Liability Insurance
  • Special needs care experience
  • Teaching Experience
 

Screening & Background Checks

  • Character references on file
  • Permanent Resident
  • Police check / Working with Children check
  • Temporary Resident
  • Written references on file
  • Babysitting nights/weekends
  • Bathing of children
  • Cleaning of children's area(s)
  • Cleaning of family area(s)
  • General Errands (Shopping etc)
  • Laundry - Children only
  • Laundry - Family
  • Live in Accommodation
  • Participation in family outings
  • Participation in family vacations
  • Pets
  • Plan & participate in childrens outings
  • Preparation of Meals/Snacks - Children
  • Preparation of Meals/Snacks - Family
  • Special Diets
 

Activities to undertake with the Children

  • Art
  • Computers
  • Cooking
  • Drama & Dance
  • Exercise
  • Free Play
  • Language development
  • Music
  • Outside play
  • Planning of children's outings
  • Science
  • Stories & Reading

Reviews       0 reviews more

POST A REVIEW