About Kamaia H @ Abracadabra

Request an Interview
With This Agency
Request an Interview With This agency
Classification
Babysitter/Nanny
Agency
Abracadabra Childcare Services

Kamaia H @ is a Babysitter/Nanny, with 20 years experience caring for children from any age. Kamaia H @ is represented by Abracadabra Childcare Services child care agency.

Carer Rates (+ Agency Booking fee $33.00)

Please note: If bookings are received within 48 hours of commencement of the assignment or made after hours then the booking fee will be $40 (+GST).

25.00 per hour (daytime)
20.00 per hour (evening)
Minimum booking is 4 hours
QUALIFICATIONS & EXPERIENCE
Australian Nanny Association Member
Child Care Qualifications - Cert III+
Drivers Licence
First Aid Certification / CPR
Lactation Consultant
LifeSaving Certificate / Austswim
Mature Aged Carer
Non-smoker
Nursing experience
Own transport
Public Liability Insurance
Special needs care experience
Teaching Experience
Character references on file
Permanent Resident
Police check / Working with Children check
Temporary Resident
Written references on file
Bachelor of Education: Adult and Workplace Education
Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Qld
Certificate III in Education Support
Cooloolah Institute of TAFE, Mooloolaba Qld
Certificate II in Arts
Cooloolah Institute of TAFE, Cooroy, Qld
Diploma of Swedish Massage
Healing Hands School of Massage, Nambour, Qld.
Senior First Aid Certificate
National First Aid Training Institute, Buderim, Qld
Other courses
I have an enormous amount of experience in all aspects of child care and have worked with Primary school children as a Teacher’s Aide and Art Teacher. I am currently nannying for a family in Sydney who have two boys aged 18mo and 3yrs. They've been accepted into a day care so my hours are about to be reduced.
In 2009 I nannied in Japan for an American family with 4 children aged 2, 4, 6, and 8 years.
I love being around children and care deeply about their well-being. As a parent and in my work, I’ve focused on providing a loving, secure and supportive environment for the children. I'm well organised, practical and efficient, and love having fun. I'm also a very good cook and am very aware of the importance of nutrition and maintaining a healthy diet. I exercise regularly and cycle to keep my level of fitness up.
I value a good education and good reading habits. Consequently, I foster learning by making it fun and interesting through play, creativity, discussion, exploration and practical experiences. As a naturally creative person, and Art Teacher, I enjoy doing arts and craft activities with children, and helping them develop their artistic confidence.
I'm energetic and young at heart and love joining in with the activities of children of all ages. I enjoy playing indoor and outdoor games, swimming and singing children's songs. When I was living close by my grandsons and I spent regular time together riding pushbikes, playing ball, climbing around in the park and drawing pictures together.
I relocated to Sydney last year and am looking for a stable longer term position to enable me to establish myself here for a while.

Skills and Abilities:
 I have excellent English language skills (speaking, spelling, grammar, syntax etc) and well developed communication skills
 I am well organised and experienced in running an efficient household
 I cook well and can adapt to special dietary requirements
 I have artistic ability (drawing particularly)
 I am a good swimmer

Personal Qualities:
 I am very caring, easy going and calm, and can also maintain order and appropriate discipline
 I'm honest and reliable, and take responsibility seriously
 I am discreet, and understand the need to maintain complete confidentiality with clients
 I'm extremely adaptable and can easily adjust to the routines or requirements of any work situation
 I relate well with people from all backgrounds and cultures and understand the need to be sensitive towards different cultural practices.

Work History Overview
2010 Nanny Luke & Fiona Deady, Sydney, NSW
2009 Nanny Fred Skolnick & Andrea Wainer, Tokyo, Japan
2007 - 2009 Marketing Consultant Best-Choice Marketing, Sunshine Coast, Qld
1999 - 2007 Teacher’s Aide/Art Teacher Mooloolah Primary School, Mooloolah, Qld
1997 - 1998 Teacher’s Aide/Art Teacher Harmony Montessori School, Qld
1993 - 1996 Massage Therapist Self employed, Caloundra, Qld
1988 - 1990 Teacher’s Aide /Graphic Designer Sunshine Coast Education Centre, Qld
1988 - 1993 Teacher’s Aide Mooloolah State Primary School, Nambour, Qld
1988 (6mths) Teacher’s Aide Sylvanvale Handicapped Children’s School, Sydney,N.S.W.
1987 -1988 (travelled 10 months overseas with my sons)
1986 - 1987 Teacher’s Aide Glenview State Primary School, Glenview, Qld
1985 (6mths) Teacher’s Aide Landsborough State Primary School, Landsborough, Qld
1985 (6mths) Teacher’s Aide Chenrezig School, Eudlo, Qld
1982 - 1984 Teacher’s Aide Glenview State Primary School, Glenview, Qld
1981 Catamaran hire operator Military Jetty Catamaran Hire, Caloundra, Qld
1975 – 1981 (married and raised children)
1974 - 1975 Assistant Production Coordinator Hannah Barbera Pty Ltd, Sydney, NSW.
1973 Freelance Cartoon Painter Animads, Sydney, NSW.
1973 - 1974 Cartoon Painter Hannah Barbera Pty Ltd, Sydney, NSW.


Experience Working with Children
 I'm currently caring for two lovely boys aged 3years and 18 mo. I have sole care of
them two days a week and my role includes preparing breakfast and lunch,
organising daily age appropriate activities, and attending to their physical and
emotional needs. We have a lovely routine and the boys and I enjoy each other's
company.
 In 2009 I completed a successful contract as a Nanny in Tokyo for an American
family with 4 children (aged 2, 4, 6, and 8 years). I was responsible for sole care as
well as shared care of the children, cooking and light cleaning. I prepared the
children for school, delivered and picked them up, helped with homework, organised
after school activities, and put them to bed. On weekends I helped organise activities
and outings and spent a lot of time being creative and playful with the children.
 For 20 years I worked as a Teacher’s Aide, assisting with lessons across all subject
streams including swimming lessons and drama classes. I worked intensively with
individual children and groups (aged 5 – 12yrs) presenting mainstream and remedial
lessons. I always aimed at building a caring relationship that promoted trust and
respect with the children. I also sought opportunities to help them build their self
esteem.
 While working in the Primary schools I assisted with the Pre-School children (4 year
olds). This involved regularly supervising them in the playground and occasionally
looking after them in class while the teacher was away.
 I worked for 10 years as an Art Teacher (Montessori and Mooloolah schools)
planning, preparing and presenting art lessons to classes of students across grades
1 – 7. Building self esteem was important in my art classes. Although I presented
lessons that helped to build skill, my strong focus was on encouraging artistic
confidence in the children and promoting self expression.

Experience as a Parent:
 I’ve been a parent for 35 years and have 4 beautiful children – 2 boys (35yrs & 33yrs) and 2 girls (21yrs & 20yrs).
 I’ve been a very dedicated parent and have put a lot of time and effort into providing a loving and healthy environment for my children to grow and learn. As a naturally creative person I’ve enjoyed doing crafts and activities with them and making learning fun. I value a good education and have promoted strong reading habits (in our household thetelevision was never the biggest attraction).
 Good health has been a major focus of my parenting. I’ve always provided home cooked healthy food and have became an expert at creating home-made ‘treats’ that tasted great and were good for growing bodies. I’ve also encouraged my children in lots of fun sports and games (both indoor and outdoor).

Experience with Other Cultures:
I love relating with people and my travel experiences have expanded my understanding and acceptance of other cultures. I would definitely consider more work outside of Australia if it was offered.
 2009 - 3 months living in Tokyo, Japan as a Nanny. I thoroughly enjoyed engaging with and immersing myself in the new culture and quickly became familiar with the routines of the new environment.
 2001 – 2 months voluntary work in Thailand. My daughters (10yrs – 12yrs) and I worked at an Akha children’s refuge building dormitories and putting in Permaculture gardens. We lived and worked in very basic conditions with 50 children, aged 4 –16yrs, and other groups of villagers. After the refuge we travelled for 2 months through 3 other Asian countries.
 2002 – 2 weeks voluntary work in the Children's Refuge in Thailand.
 1987 – 10 month backpacking journey. I took my sons (10yrs & 12yrs) on a journey from Australia to England (to visit their grandparents) through 13 different countries (Asia, Europe, Mediterranean, Britain). We used local transport and stayed in basic accommodation as we enjoyed navigating our way across the world.

Interests

I have a passion for travel and enjoying other people and cultures, bush walking, exploring
and adventuring. I love swimming, the beach, boogie boarding and playing most indoor and
outdoor games. I also love music, dancing, going to the theatre, and reading.
  • Australian Nanny Association Member
  • Child Care Qualifications - Cert III+
  • Drivers Licence
  • First Aid Certification / CPR
  • Lactation Consultant
  • LifeSaving Certificate / Austswim
  • Mature Aged Carer
  • Non-smoker
  • Nursing experience
  • Own transport
  • Public Liability Insurance
  • Special needs care experience
  • Teaching Experience
 

Screening & Background Checks

  • Character references on file
  • Permanent Resident
  • Police check / Working with Children check
  • Temporary Resident
  • Written references on file
  • Babysitting nights/weekends
  • Bathing of children
  • Cleaning of children's area(s)
  • Cleaning of family area(s)
  • General Errands (Shopping etc)
  • Laundry - Children only
  • Laundry - Family
  • Live in Accommodation
  • Participation in family outings
  • Participation in family vacations
  • Pets
  • Plan & participate in childrens outings
  • Preparation of Meals/Snacks - Children
  • Preparation of Meals/Snacks - Family
  • Special Diets
 

Activities to undertake with the Children

  • Art
  • Computers
  • Cooking
  • Drama & Dance
  • Exercise
  • Free Play
  • Language development
  • Music
  • Outside play
  • Planning of children's outings
  • Science
  • Stories & Reading

Reviews       0 reviews more

POST A REVIEW